Nomination of Robert E. Bacharach Vote Recap

Yesterday, the Senate voted on the nomination of Robert E. Bacharach to be the United States Circuit Judge for the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals. His qualifications or views were not the principal reason for our opposition; it was the fact that the vote on his nomination at this time was a violation of tradition and precedents in the Senate known as the Thurmond/Leahy Rule. The Rule provides that the confirmation of lifetime judges (especially Court of Appeals judges) should not proceed in the months immediately preceding a presidential election.

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV) had said that Bacharach would likely be the last circuit court nomination of the year, ending the threat that the Senate would try yet again to break the Thurmond/Leahy Rule.

The vote results are listed below, along with a list of the Republicans who voted incorrectly (no Democrats voted against his nomination):

The Nomination of Robert E. Bacharach: Rejected by a vote of 56-34
Heritage Action: NO

Republicans Voting Incorrectly:
Sen. Scott Brown (MA)
Sen. Susan Collins (ME)
Sen. Olympia Snowe (ME)

Democrats Voting Correctly:

Please Share Your Thoughts