Farm Bill Vote Recap

Yesterday, the Senate voted on the Agriculture Reform, Food, and Jobs Act of 2012 (S.3240). Commonly referred to as the farm bill, the legislation is used to shape America’s farm and food policy, funneling subsidies to certain agriculture interests and money toward welfare programs such as food stamps, while propping up the biofuel industry. The key vote is listed below, along with a list of the Republicans who voted incorrectly and the Democrats who voted correctly (albeit some for the wrong reasons):

The Farm Bill: Passed by a vote of 64-35
Heritage Action: NO

Republicans Voting Incorrectly:
Sen. Lamar Alexander (TN)
Sen. John Barrasso (WY)
Sen. Roy Blunt (MO)
Sen. Scott Brown (MA)
Sen. Dan Coats (IN)
Sen. Susan Collins (ME)
Sen. Michael Enzi (WY)
Sen. Chuck Grassley (IA)
Sen. John Hoeven (ND)
Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX)
Sen. Mike Johanns (NE)
Sen. Dick Lugar (IN)
Sen. Jerry Moran (KS)
Sen. Pat Roberts (KS)
Sen. Olympia Snowe (ME)
Sen. John Thune (SD)

Democrats Voting Correctly:
Sen. Mary Landrieu (LA)
Sen. Frank Lautenberg (NJ)
Sen. Mark Pryor (AR)
Sen. Jack Reed (RI)
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (RI)

Please Share Your Thoughts