Disapproval of EPA’s Utility MACT Rule Vote Recap

Earlier this week, the Senate voted on S.J.Res.37, a joint resolution disapproving a rule submitted by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) relating to emission standards for certain steam generating units. The disapproval resolution would have halted the EPA’s Utility MACT rule, which will effectively shut down coal-fired power plants across the country. The vote results are listed below, along with a list of the Republicans who voted incorrectly and Democrats who voted correctly:

Notably absent from the list of Democrats voting correctly are coal state Senators John Rockefeller (D-WV) and Bob Casey (D-PA).

Disapproval of EPA’s Utility MACT Rule: Rejected by a vote of 46-53
Heritage Action: YES

Republicans Voting Incorrectly:
Sen. Lamar Alexander (TN)
Sen. Kelly Ayotte (NH)
Sen. Scott Brown (MA)
Sen. Susan Collins (ME)
Sen. Olympia Snowe (ME)

Democrats Voting Correctly:
Sen. Mary Landrieu (LA)
Sen. Joe Manchin (WV)
Sen. Ben Nelson (NE)
Sen. Mark Warner (VA)
Sen. Jim Webb (VA)

Please Share Your Thoughts