Export-Import Bank Reauthorization Vote Recap

Last night, the Senate voted on the Export-Import Bank Reauthorization Act of 2012 (H.R.2072). The bill reauthorizes the bank for three years and expands its lending cap by 40%, to $140 billion. The Export-Import Bank provides taxpayer-backed loans to U.S. exporters, allowing them to sell their products overseas cheaper than they would here in America. It is a market-distorting subsidy that allows some companies to prosper at the expense of others. It is just more of the same – picking winners and losers, Solyndra-style. The vote results are below, along with a list of the Republicans who voted incorrectly and the Democrats (including Independents who caucus with them) who voted correctly.

The Export-Import Bank Reauthorization (Senate): Passed by a vote of 78-20
Heritage Action: NO

Republicans Voting Incorrectly:
Sen. Lamar Alexander (TN)
Sen. Kelly Ayotte (NH)
Sen. Roy Blunt (MO)
Sen. John Boozman (AR)
Sen. Scott Brown (MA)
Sen. Richard Burr (NC)
Sen. Saxby Chambliss (GA)
Sen. Dan Coats (IN)
Sen. Tom Coburn (OK)
Sen. Thad Cochran (MS)
Sen. Susan Collins (ME)
Sen. Lindsey Graham (SC)
Sen. Dean Heller (NV)
Sen. John Hoeven (ND)
Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX)
Sen. Johnny Isakson (GA)
Sen. Mike Johanns (NE)
Sen. Dick Lugar (IN)
Sen. Jerry Moran (KS)
Sen. Lisa Murkowski (AK)
Sen. Rob Portman (OH)
Sen. Pat Roberts (KS)
Sen. Jeff Sessions (AL)
Sen. Richard Shelby (AL)
Sen. Olympia Snowe (ME)
Sen. John Thune (SD)
Sen. Roger Wicker (MS)

Democrats (Including Independents) Who Voted Correctly:
Sen. Bernie Sanders (VT)

Please Share Your Thoughts