Violence Against Women Act Vote Recap

Last Thursday, the Senate voted on a reauthorization and expansion of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), which makes domestic violence – typically handled by state and local governments – a federal crime. The reauthorization of VAWA also broadened the definition of the word “women” to also mean “men,” by allowing homosexual men, transgenders, and prisoners to be covered under the law. The vote results are listed below, along with a list of the Republicans who voted incorrectly (no Democrats voted against this bill):

The Violence Against Women Act: Passed by a vote of 68-31
Heritage Action: NO

Republicans Voting Incorrectly:
Sen. Lamar Alexander (TN)
Sen. Kelly Ayotte (NH)
Sen. Scott Brown (MA)
Sen. Dan Coats (IN)
Sen. Susan Collins (ME)
Sen. Bob Corker (TN)
Sen. Mike Crapo (ID)
Sen. Dean Heller (NV)
Sen. John Hoeven (ND)
Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX)
Sen. John McCain (AZ)
Sen. Lisa Murkowski (AK)
Sen. Rob Portman (OH)
Sen. Olympia Snowe (ME)
Sen. David Vitter (LA)

Democrats Voting Correctly:

Please Share Your Thoughts