Driving the Week Recap: “Minibus” Passes

The House of Representatives passed the “minibus” which contained the 2012 Agriculture, Commerce, Justices, Transportation and Housing appropriations bills. Some members of Congress and many in the media are trying to spin this off as a sign of bipartisanship and the responsible adults coming together. That couldn’t be further from the truth.

Passing something just for the sake of passing something, to embrace the mantra of cooperation and compromise, will almost always result in misguided legislation. The minibus raised the loan limits for the Federal Housing Authority (FHA), which is on the fast track to become the next government-sponsored enterprise (GSE) to need a bailout (just like Fannie and Freddie). The original deal would have allowed the same stimulus-era conforming loan limit to apply to the FHA, Fannie, and Freddie. Now it only applies to FHA, which is going to need a taxpayer-funded bailout in the very near future.

This is what compromise brings: instead of three disastrous agencies backing home mortgages of up to $729,750, we only have one. Allowing even one agency to back loans up that amount takes us away from real reform and increases the risk that taxpayers will be on the hook.

The other major issue with this legislation is that the spending levels in this bill are $13 billion higher than the House-passed Ryan budget from earlier this year – which would have actually put our country onto a path of fiscal responsibility.

One hundred and one good conservatives voted against this status quo spending bill. Unfortunately, it was not enough to defend against the Washington Establishment, who still refuse to cut spending and get our country back on track.

See how your Congressman voted here.

The 101:

Adams, S. (FL-24)

Akin (MO-02)

Amash (MI-03)

Amodei (NV-02)

Austria (OH-07)

Bartlett, R. (MD-06)

Barton, J. (TX-06)

Blackburn, M. (TN-07)

Boustany (LA-07)

Brady, K. (TX-08)

Brooks (AL-05)

Broun (GA-10)

Bucshon (IN-08)

Buerkle (NY-25)

Burgess (TX-26)

Burton, D. (IN-05)

Canseco (TX-23)

Chabot (OH-01)

Chaffetz (UT-03)

Coffman (CO-06)

DesJarlais (TN-04)

Duffy (WI-07)

Duncan, Jeff (SC-03)

Duncan, John (TN-02)

Farenthold (TX-27)

Fincher (TN-08)

Flake (AZ-06)

Fleischmann (TN-03)

Fleming (LA-04)

Foxx (NC-05)

Franks, T. (AZ-02)

Garrett (NJ-05)

Gingrey (GA-11)

Gohmert (TX-01)

Gowdy (SC-04)

Graves, T. (GA-09)

Griffith (VA-09)

Guinta (NH-01)

Harris (MD-01)

Hensarling (TX-05)

Herger (CA-02)

Herrera Beutler (WA-03)

Huelskamp (KS-01)

Huizenga (MI-02)

Hultgren (IL-14)

Hurt (VA-05)

Jenkins (KS-02)

Johnson, Timothy (IL-15)

Jones (NC-03)

Jordan (OH-04)

King, S. (IA-05)

Kinzinger (IL-11)

Labrador (ID-01)

Lamborn (CO-05)

Landry, J. (LA-03)

Lankford (OK-05)

Lummis (WY-AL)

Mack (FL-14)

Marchant (TX-24)

McClintock (CA-04)

McCotter (MI-11)

McHenry (NC-10)

Miller, C. (MI-10)

Miller, J. (FL-01)

Mulvaney (SC-05)

Murphy, T. (PA-18)

Myrick (NC-09)

Neugebauer (TX-19)

Noem (SD-AL)

Nugent (FL-05)

Paulsen (MN-03)

Pearce (NM-02)

Pence (IN-06)

Petri (WI-06)

Poe (TX-02)

Pompeo (KS-04)

Posey (FL-15)

Price, T. (GA-06)

Quayle (AZ-03)

Reed, T. (NY-29)

Ribble (WI-08)

Rigell (VA-02)

Ross, D. (FL-12)

Royce (CA-40)

Ryan, P. (WI-01)

Schmidt (OH-02)

Schweikert (AZ-05)

Scott, A. (GA-08)

Scott, T. (SC-01)

Sensenbrenner (WI-05)

Southerland (FL-02)

Stearns (FL-06)

Stutzman (IN-03)

Sullivan (OK-01)

Terry (NE-02)

Tipton (CO-03)

Walberg (MI-07)

Walsh (IL-08)

Westmoreland, L. (GA-03)

Wilson, J. (SC-02)

Young, T. (IN-09)

Please Share Your Thoughts