54 Senators Vote to Waste $1 Billion

FEMA’s disaster fund may go broke!  It’s a scary headline…and it was completely false.  Yesterday, the Federal Emergency Management Agency announced it has enough money for this fiscal year, which ends Friday.  In non-Washington speak, it means the agency does not need the $1 billion in emergency funding many thought it would.  Nonetheless, at 6:30 yesterday evening, hours after that announcement, 54 United States Senators voted to handout that money.

Heritage Action opposed Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid’s (D-NV) amendment, which would have given FEMA $1 billion it did not need, without any accompanying spending cuts.  Fortunately, the measure failed, but not with a lot of grandstanding, hyperbole and hateful rhetoric.  Senator Mary Landrieu (D-LA) even managed to squeeze in Senator Chuck Schumer’s (D-NY) preferred talking point when she called offsets a “ridiculous extreme.”

This is why conservatives must continue to fight, at every turn.  The moment we turn a blind eye toward the process, the Washington Establishment will try to waste your money.  Heritage Action will keep you up to date, at every turn, on the spending battles in Washington.

Below is a list of Senators who wanted to add $1 billion to our debt by giving FEMA money it did not need:

Daniel Akaka (D-HI)

Max Baucus (D-MT)

Mark Begich (D-AK)

Michael Bennet (D-CO)

Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)

Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Scott Brown (R-MA)

Ben Cardin (D-MD)

Tom Carper (D-DE)

Robert Casey (D-PA)

Susan Collins (R-ME)

Kent Conrad (D-ND)

Chris Coons (D-DE)

Dick Durbin (D-IL)

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)

Al Franken (D-MN)

Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

Kay Hagan (D-NC)

Tom Harkin (D-IA)

Dan Inouye (D-HI)

Tim Johnson (D-SD)

John Kerry (D-MA)

Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Herb Kohl (D-WI)

Mary Landrieu (D-LA)

Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)

Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

Carl Levin (D-MI)

Joe Lieberman (ID-CT)

Joe Manchin (D-WV)

Claire McCaskill (D-MO)

Robert Menendez (D-NJ)

Jeff Merkley (D-OR)

Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)

Patty Murray (D-WA)

Bill Nelson (D-FL)

Ben Nelson (D-NE)

Mark Pryor (D-AR)

Jack Reed (D-RI)

Harry Reid (D-NV)

Jay Rockefeller (D-WV)

Bernie Sanders (I-VT)

Charles Schumer (D-NY)

Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)

Olymipia Snowe (R-ME)

Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

Jon Tester (D-MT)

Mark Udall (D-CO)

Tom Udall (D-NM)

Mark Warner (D-VA)

Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

Ron Wyden (D-OR)



Please Share Your Thoughts